Supervisory Board

According to its Articles of Association the Supervisory Board must consist of at least seven members.

The Chair must be an independent member (not a parent) and there must be at least one member who is a UK education specialist.

John Cameron-Webb MBE

Chair of the Supervisory Board (Interim)

John Cameron-Webb served in the Royal Military Police in Germany, Northern-Ireland, London and Berlin between 1974 and 1984.

In 1988 he commenced a career with the Foreign and Commonwealth Office, based at the British Consulate-General in Amsterdam. John acted as Management Officer running Consulate budget, HR, transport and Estate Maintenance. In 2002 he was appointed Pro-Consul and acquired an additional range of consular duties such as assistance work, prison visits and notarial work. In 2007 he was appointed Vice-Consul and Head of Consular/Passport section running a busy office offering Consular assistance to around 45,000 British residents and an annual 3 million British tourists. He also managed Honorary Consuls in the Dutch Caribbean Islands.

John was appointed British Consul and Head of Post in October 2008. During the years leading up to 2020, John deployed and provided Consular support to British nationals during the Arab Spring crisis in 2011 and next of kin of victims of the MH17 disaster. He was deployed to the Brussels bombing and assisted those caught up in the severe hurricanes Irma and Maria in 2017 affecting the Dutch Caribbean islands of St Maarten, Saba and St Eustatius. In 2018 John was appointed Member of the Civil Division of the Order of the British Empire(MBE) for Services to British Nationals Abroad.

John left the Foreign and Commonwealth Office in January 2021 and intends to remain in the Netherlands. An avid historian, John specialises in the First World War and acts as a Battlefield Tour Guide in France and Belgium. He also organises tours and walks focussing on the Second World War in the Netherlands.

John and his wife Anika are busy musicians in their spare time. They have two daughters.

Ilya Meshcheryakov

Independent Board Member

Ilya Meshcheryakov joined the Supervisory Board in March 2018.

Ilya was formerly the Group Business Controller at Royal DSM NV, a Dutch global science-based multinational active in the fields of health, nutrition and materials. Prior to this position, Ilya has worked for AkzoNobel leading the Finance function in the Region covering Eastern, Central and Southern Europe, North and South Africa and Turkey. Ilya has worked in senior finance positions for more than 20 years and has experience with supervisory and management boards, experience in leading teams and managing change across functions, geographies and cultures.

Ilya has master’s degrees in Finance and Control from Maastricht University, Business Administration from TSM Business School and Economics from Voronezh State University. Both of Ilya’s daughters attended The British School.

Albert Damen

Independent Board Member

Albert Damen, a Dutch national, joined the Supervisory Board in October 2020.

Albert is currently Group CFO for a multinational non-food trading business headquartered in the Netherlands. Before assuming this role, Albert worked in different CFO and finance roles for a Dutch global oil & gas company, based in various countries in Europe, Middle-East and Asia and has also lived in the United States.

Albert holds a master’s degree in finance from London Business School (MSc), a master’s degree in economics from the University of Amsterdam (MA) and a bachelor’s degree in European Business Administration (BBA). Both of Albert’s sons attended The British School.

Annemarie Thomassen

Independent Board Member

Annemarie has worked in Dutch education for more than forty years. She was director of education at the teacher training college of Leiden University and principal of the Stedelijk Gymnasium Leiden.  Annemarie has a master’s degree in educational science (University of Amsterdam) and a master’s degree in management of education (TIAS business school University of Tilburg).

Annemarie joined the Supervisory Board as an independent member in August 2022. She is a member of the Education Committee.

Hans Moltmaker

Independent Board Member

Hans Moltmaker is an experienced Dutch employment and organisation lawyer. Next to his law studies at Leiden and the Free University of Amsterdam, he studied at the University of East Anglia. He joined the Supervisory Board in August 2022.
Because of the many different organisations, both in the public and private sector, in which and with whom he worked over the years, he thrives in complex international environments. Working on international projects and with international clients, he learned to analyse different law systems and company and institution structures and how to bring the stakeholder interests together. He is very experienced also regarding employee information and consultation (Works Councils) acting for both the Works Council and the management board, or if at all possible for both together.
Hans holds several supervisory positions next to his law practice and acted as honorary counsel for the British Consulate for more than a decade.

Arjen Brandon

Independant Board Member

Arjen Brandon is the director and founder of Themelion, a consultancy firm that specialises in complex building projects. Amongst other educational projects he has worked on various international schools. Arjen obtained master’s degrees in architecture, business economics, public law and civil law. In his daily work he connects the technical, financial, and legal aspects of construction projects. Clients often value his pragmatic and insightful approach in complex situations. Over the past few years, he has become more involved in conflict and negotiation situations in construction projects. His drive to get to the bottom of problems in terms of content goes hand in hand with attention to the procedural and human aspects of those problems. Thus, he is able to find solutions in complex and charged situations. In the role of Project Director, Arjen was involved in the development of the new location of The British School at the Havenstraat.

Arjen is the father of two sons. He joined the Supervisory Board in December 2022 and is a member of the Finance, Legal and Real Estate Committee.

Robert Fletcher

Robert Fletcher

Independent Board Member

Robert Fletcher joined advertising after leaving Oxford University ( Worcester College), spending 21 years with the Saatchi Company. He began in the London office, followed by a move to Hong Kong as Chief Executive, where he was also responsible for South East Asia, then to Frankfurt as CEO and Regional Director, with responsibility for Central Europe and German-speaking countries and finally to New York, with responsibility for North America. Each of these assignments covered a long list of local and international clients ( eg P&G, KGF, J & J, BA, Toyota, AUDI, FT, News International). He now has his own company concentrating on providing brand- building advice to companies whose offerings are complex and difficult to express in a persuasive, inspirational way for their many target audiences.

His work in education includes Universities: Oxford, St Andrew’s, Aberdeen, Liverpool, Nottingham and Schools :(UK) Rugby, Eton, Sherborne, Westminster, Tonbridge, Repton, Cheltenham, Warwick, Ampleforth, Sedbergh, Stonyhurst ( Europe) Beau Soleil, BSA ( South America) Markham,Peru, The Mackay, Chile, CCB Colombia, ESSARP, Argentina.

Robert is married with two children and lives in London .