Supervisory Board

The British School of Amsterdam (BSA) is an independent school accredited by the UK Government as a British School Overseas (BSO).

The school is a Stichting (Foundation) and has a Supervisory Board who has responsibility for the strategic direction of the school. The Supervisory Board approves school policies, all major investments, budget and financial statements, appoints the Management Board and ensures that the school meets all its obligations under both Dutch law and also the BSO standards. The Management Board consists of the Principal (who is the Chairman of the Management Board) and the Bursar. The Senior Leadership Team consists of the Principal, Bursar and the four heads of school. The school receives no funding from either the UK or Dutch governments.

The Supervisory Board meets at least six times during the school year. The Management Board also attend each meeting.

Members of the the board also have links with the Parents’ Organisation Comittee (POC) and the Works Council (ondernemingsraad, OR)

According to its Articles of Association the Supervisory Board must consist of at least seven members, at least one third of whom must be parents. The Chairman must be an independent member (not a parent) and there must be at least one member who is a UK education specialist. Both the POC and OR nominate representatives to the the board.

Currently, the Supervisory Board consists of nine members, including the Chairman, Jonathan Atack. Members have a background and expertise in one or more of the following areas: finance, real estate, marketing, communications, human resources, employee relations and education. Profiles of each member can be found here.

Mr Jonathan Atack MBE Chairman
Dr Helen Wright UK Educational Advisor
Mr Himanshu Shah Parent Board Member
Mrs Annette Roodhart Parent Board Member
Mr Herman Kievits Independent Board Member
Mr Jonathan Gimblett Secretary, Parent Board Member
Mrs Hiske van Hövell Independent Board Member
Mr Ilya Meshcheryakov Parent Board Member

Back row, left to right, Jos van Bussel*, Hiske van Hövell, Annette Roodhart, Harry Dolman*, Jonathan Gimblett (Secretary), Hugh Monro*. Front row: Herman Kievits, Andrew Brothers*, Jonathan Atack (Chairman) and Himanshu Shah. *No longer on the Board.

There are four working groups which meet regularly to review specific areas and make recommendations to the Supervisory Board. The current groups are:
  • Communications and Development led by Mrs Hiske van Hövell
  • Education, Welfare and HR led by Dr Helen Wright
  • Real Estate led by Mr Herman Kievits
  • Finance and Legal led by Mr Himanshu Shah

The Audit Committee is chaired by Mr Himanshu Shah.

The Chairman of the Supervisory Board can be contacted by writing to The Chairman, The British School of Amsterdam, Anthonie van Dijckstraat 1, 1077 ME Amsterdam. This can either be posted to the school or given over in a sealed envelope to one of the receptionists. The Chairman can also be contacted by sending an email to

The Articles of Association are available in English and Dutch.